How To Exclude Photos From iCloud Backup

Share This:

ICloud Backup is a great way to safeguard your data in case of device loss, theft, or damage. With iCloud Backup, you can securely store your photos, videos, contacts, calendars, and documents in the cloud for easy access and retrieval. But what happens when you want to exclude certain photos from being backed up? Fortunately, it's easy to exclude specific photos from an iCloud backup so you don't have to worry about them being backed up when the time comes.

First off, make sure iCloud Library is turned off on all of your devices. To do this, go to Settings > iCloud > Photos and toggle the switch next to “iCloud Photo Library” off. This will ensure that any photos stored in iCloud are not backed up during an iCloud backup.

Next, you'll need to download any photos stored in iCloud that you want to be kept on your iOS device but excluded from the backup. To do this go to Settings > Apple ID (your name at the top) > iCloud > Photos and tap “Download Photos & Videos”. This will ensure all of your images stored on iCloud get stored locally on your device so that they won't get backed up during an iCloud backup process.

If you want to delete certain photos from both your device and an upcoming backup then simply select the ones you want to be removed and click the “Trash” icon at the bottom of the screen. You can select multiple pictures at once if needed. When prompted with a confirmation message click “Delete” again to confirm before proceeding with any other backups or deletions.

Finally, once all of these steps are completed it's time for you to back up your device using an iTunes or Finder app sync so that all of your data is safely secured without any unwanted photos included in the process. Simply connect your device with a USB cable and open either iTunes or Finder app depending on whether you're using a Mac or PC respectively and select “Back Up Now” from the options available under the “Devices” section. Once complete all of your data should now be backed up excluding any unwanted pictures from being included in this process!

excluding certain pictures from an upcoming iTunes/Finder App Sync/iCloud backup is quite simple as long as you follow these few steps: make sure iCloud Photo Library is turned off; download any images stored in iCloud; delete any unwanted images; and finally back up using either iTunes or Finder App Syncing respectively for Macs/PCs users respectively!

How To Exclude Photos From iCloud Backup 1

Excluding Photos From an iPhone Backup

To exclude photos from an iPhone backup, you can first turn off iCloud Photo Library in Settings > iCloud. When prompted, choose to download Photos & Videos to your device. Then, open iTunes on your computer and connect your iPhone. In iTunes, select your device and click Summary > Configure Backup. Uncheck the box next to ‘Include Photos' so that only other data is backed up. Finally, click Apply or Sync to back up your device with the selected settings.

Removing Photos From iCloud Backup

To remove photos from iCloud Backup, you'll need to log in to the iCloud website using your Apple ID and password. Once logged in, select the folder containing the pictures you wish to delete. You can then select individual images or multiple images at once to delete. To confirm the deletion, click the trash icon at the bottom of the page. Keep in mind that deleting photos from iCloud Backup will also delete them across all other devices that are synced with your iCloud account.

Deleting Photos From iCloud While Keeping Them on iPhone

To delete photos from iCloud but keep them on your iPhone, first, make sure to disable iCloud Photos. Go to Settings -> Apple ID (your name at the very top) -> iCloud -> Photos. Here, you will see an option for “iCloud Photos”, which you should toggle off. Once this is done, any photos you remove from iCloud will stay on your iPhone. You can also turn off “My Photo Stream” if you want to prevent photos from automatically syncing between other devices and your iPhone.

Turning Off iCloud Backup for Photos: What to Expect

If you turn off iCloud backup for photos, you won't be able to back up any new images you take on your device. This includes photos stored in iCloud but not taken on the device. Additionally, any images that have already been backed up to iCloud will no longer be accessible. You should also keep in mind that turning off iCloud backup for photos will not delete any of your existing images, but they will no longer be backed up and could potentially be lost if your device is damaged or stolen.

Does Deleting Photos From iPhone Affect iCloud Storage?

Yes, deleting photos from your iPhone will also delete them from iCloud. When you turn on iCloud Photos, all of the photos and videos you take with your iPhone are automatically uploaded to iCloud. When you delete a photo or video from your device, it is also removed from iCloud. If you want to keep the photos and videos in iCloud, make sure to download them to a different device or computer before deleting them from your iPhone.

Share This:
Photo of author

James Walker

James Walker has a deep passion for technology and is our in-house enthusiastic editor. He graduated from the School of Journalism and Mass Communication, and loves to test the latest gadgets and play with older software (something we’re still trying to figure out about himself). Hailing from Iowa, United States, James loves cats and is an avid hiker in his free time.