Now, Share Your Google Passwords with Trusted Friends When You Die

April 13, 2013, By Sanjeev Ramachandran

Have you ever thought about the possibility of your email password being passed on to your loved ones automatically when you die? No? But Google certainly has.

Here comes a new Google tool that emails your passwords to ten people of your choice when your account remains inactive for more than three months. All the data, except for anything that you “bought” with your Google account, can be shared with them.

The tool, known as ‘Inactive Account Manager’, is located here . Users can set a “timeout period” of 3 months, 6 months, 9 months or 1 year.

account manager

 

You can add 10 “most trusted” friends who will be notified if your account remained inactive during the “timeout period”. You can even choose to share all your data, including mails, Google + data, Picasa albums and other stuff with these contacts.

There is also an option to delete your account after the “timeout period”. However, Google has put up a service that will send a notification to your mobile phone before the “sharing” or deletion happens.

As the things you bought from Play Store are your own property, they can’t be transferred after your death.

However, pictures on Picasa and emails have some sentimental value to your loved ones and they can be shared using this service if a mishap takes place.

© 2008-2012 DeviceMag.com - All rights reserved | Privacy Policy