Deleting Google+ Accounts

July 19, 2011, By Christian Cawley

If you’ve successfully got started with Google+ but found yourself slightly underwhelmed by the new service, you might be considering quitting in favor of sticking with your existing preferred social networks.

But how do you quit?

Deleting a Google+ account isn’t immediately obvious, but fortunately it is quite a bit easier than discarding a Facebook profile. As with most Google-related services, the controls are accessed via the users profile details, accessed via the menu in the top-right corner, and after a few moments you should find yourself free from the +1 madness of Google+.

There is no word as yet on how long it will take to delete your account from the Google servers, but you can be happy in the knowledge that using this method will prevent you from appearing in Google+ and remove you as a contact from your friends’ circles.

How to delete a Google+ account

Why Not Invite Friends?

It seems a shame to quit the service so soon, but if you genuinely cannot get any use from Google+ and don’t expect to in the future (you might prefer Facebook or LinkedIn, for instance) then quitting your account is probably the best choice.

However, don’t be too hasty. Is there anyone you know how might like to be a member of Google+? If so, you should take advantage of the Send invites option on your Home page to take advantage of free invites to appreciative friends. Even if you don’t want to keep using Google+ (and you might want to after inviting contacts to use the service) then offering others the ability to do so is a good option.

You should probably give it a couple of days to see if things liven up slightly with Google+ and your friends accounts before you finally opt to quit, but when you do so it should be a pretty painless experience.

All I’m saying is you should give your friends a chance first…

How to Quit Google+

When you’re truly ready to say goodbye to Google+, point your mouse at the top-right corner of your browser window and left-click your name to display a short menu.

Listed under in the Account Settings screen under Services is the Delete profile and remove associated social features option. This will take you to the next screen, where you can choose to Delete Google+ content by selecting the option, putting a check in the Required box (confirming that you understand what action is to be taken) and clicking Remove selected services

With this step completed, Google will begin deleting your account over the following days, removing any posts and comments you made, although photos will need to be removed manually from Picasa.

Compared to discarding a Facebook account, deleting your Google+ profile has been made extremely easy and straightforward.

© 2008-2012 DeviceMag.com - All rights reserved | Privacy Policy